souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

The Job Interview

This is post #1 in my Writer’s Block series.  For a bit more info, click HERE.

Writer’s Block – Prompt #1: “Tell the story of a job interview that goes badly.”

After graduating from college (University of Redlands) in 1994, I worked a seasonal job on the east coast from September to December in an environmental education program called Nature’s Classroom.  It was temporary, and when I got my first student loan bill, I realized I needed to return to southern Cali and find a more permanent job (something that came with an annual salary rather than the “room & board plus minimum wage” job at Nature’s Classroom.)

I returned to California in December and began searching the employment ads in the newspaper  (no internet back then).  I figured that my love of math would get me in the door for some bookkeeping jobs.  In fact, that was all I looked for…desk jobs that allowed me to play with numbers all day.

After mailing my resume to a few companies with promising job openings, one place finally called me back.  It was a small company, and to this day, I still don’t remember what the company actually did.  All I remember was the interview itself.

I met with a man in a small drab, boring looking room.  There were no windows, and the man had to prop open a door to get some air in the room.  He looked over my resume, and then asked me to describe myself and to describe some of my work experience.

I understand that people who are in need of a job are supposed to say whatever they need to say to land the position.  But this was my first real job interview, and I was too naïve to know what to do.  So I told him the truth about me.  I love math, and I love writing, and I needed to start working full-time, and if he would give me a shot, I’ll be the best bookkeeper he’s ever had.

This is when he told me something I’ll never forget.  He said “Robert, I really need someone to start right away, and I really want to hire you, but I can’t.”

I was confused, and I asked him bluntly “Why can’t you hire me?”

He told me that I worked as a camp counselor for several summers, I worked for three months with middle school students as a naturalist in a outdoor education program, and, as a teenager, I worked for two years in a library, mostly in the children’s library section.  He said that as much as he wanted to hire me, he felt that I would eventually get bored crunching numbers, and begin to deeply miss being around people.  He said he needed someone permanently as a bookkeeper, and everything about me screamed “people person” and not “bookkeeper”.

That was the end of the interview, and I left confused and upset and…well, just confused because I had no idea what he was talking about.  I felt that it was my worst interview, but looking back on it, I now realize that man was 100% correct.  He saw something in me that I couldn’t recognize, and he did me a huge favor by not hiring me.

Two months later, with the help of a good friend named Elvira, I got my first full-time job working in Compton as a teacher for an alternative education program for kids on probation who wanted to get their G.E.D.  That was the beginning of my career as a teacher.

So my worst interview turned out to be the best thing for my teaching career.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2010 by in Writer's Block and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 449 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

