souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

Five for a Friday #3

Today’s Five for a Friday…

Five Things That Made Me Smile This Week

#1:  Donovan and his Tic Tacs
Donovan asked if we could stop at the store and grab a snack.  I thought it was a great idea.  I got myself a small bag of pecans.  Donovan wanted citrus-flavored Tic Tac breath mints.  Fine.  We got back into the car, and while I drove, he popped Tic Tacs in his mouth followed by “Ooh…that’s cool and refreshing.”  He would make a great ad guy if there existed a 5-year-old version of Mad Men.

Speaking of Mad Men

#2:  Sesame Street
A friend sent this video via her Facebook page on Wednesday (you may want to pause the video and let it load completely before watching)…

#3: Nick Afansiev
I was listening to one of my favorite radio talk shows (Frosty Heidi and Frank).  A few days ago, they conducted a phone interview with Nick Afansiev.  Recently, Nick has been making his way  around the TV and radio talk shows because he has been confirmed as holding the record for the longest tongue in America.  (Unfortunately, he does not hold the record for having the longest tongue in the world.)  Anyway, Nick can lick his elbow.  Nick can lick his nostrils.  Nick can lick his eye.  I think someone should (carefully) write a children’s book called “Sick Things Nick Can Lick”.  Anyway, here’s a video of Nick…

#4:  Donovan’s Reminder
I use the calendar app on my iTouch quite a bit (it’s linked with my work calendar, so I’m checking it constantly.)  On Tuesday, I’m perusing my list of appointments and I notice something scheduled in October 2010 that was also a repeated event in October 2011.  I open it up.  Donovan scheduled appointment reminders on his birthday in my calendar.  The scheduled event was labeled as such (now understand that I am typing this here EXACTLY as my five-year-old son Donovan typed it)…
TITLE:  Chuck e cheese Pamona corner 32357 Dickson avenue
TIME:  10am to 3:45pm
NOTES:  Come 4 a good time@chuck e cheese!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!woo!(guitar solo) bye!!
(For those of you who may not know…Chuck E Cheese is a pizza restaurant for kids.)
I don’t know what was funnier–the fact that he made up an address for Chuck E Cheese…the fact that he took the time to type 64 exclamation points after the word cheese…or the fact that he had to insert a guitar solo.  He also scheduled an alarm to go off on the day of the event.  YEARLY.  I couldn’t stop smiling.

#5:  Men of Soul
I took my lady to the “Men of Soul” concert last night.  I smiled a few times walking backwards down memory lane with Jeffrey Osborne, Peabo Bryson, Howard Hewitt, and Freddie Jackson.  The best song of the night was this one here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2010 by in Five for a Friday and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 449 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

