souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

Daddy & Me Weekend

Donovan and I had a “Daddy and Me” weekend, spending all day Saturday and Sunday together (or maybe I should refer to it as a “Donovan and Me” weekend because I’m the one writing this post.)

Anyway…

SATURDAY

Saturday we ran errands…the bank (to get some cash), the post office (to get some stamps), the car wash (to get…um…a car wash) and to Sonic (to get some milkshakes).  Then we went to Skate Express (a roller rink in Chino) to try out Donovan’s new roller skates (thanks to Granny).

For the first 30-40 minutes, Donovan wouldn’t let go of my hand as we circled the rink.  He was really scared to let go of me…and I guess it makes sense…how quickly do most five-year-olds get used to having wheels on their feet?  Even though I would force myself off of him for a few seconds, he didn’t have enough faith to skate by himself.  When I see the way he learns how to do things, I’m often amazed at how many tasks I take for granted.  Finally, I told him that I would buy him a new video game for his Nintendo DS if he would skate the entire rink by himself.

That did it.  He made it around by himself, and there was no stopping him.  We skated until they closed.

SUNDAY

On Sunday, Donovan and I went to the San Diego Wild Animal Park.  This was definitely one of the BEST trips I’ve ever taken.  Period.  This place is truly incredible.  I had a feeling Donovan would enjoy it (and he did…a lot), but I had no idea how awesome this place is (and I rarely use the word awesome).  It actually inspired awe within me.  It was fun AND educational.  We learned so much about exotic animals and endangered species that I feel we deserve honorary degrees from the Wild Animal Park.  Donovan said his favorite parts of the day were taking the “Journey into Africa” safari ride, and getting the top half of his face painted into a leopard mask.

You can click here to see a slideshow of some of the Wild Animal Park pictures.

One comment on “Daddy & Me Weekend

  1. George Oltmans
    August 31, 2010

    I just wanted to say, as a member of the Zoological society in San Diego, i’m very pleased when people share my passion for animals.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2010 by in MDB #1 Comments and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 447 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

