souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

Five for a Friday #7

Today’s Five for a Friday…

Five Blogs that are NOT Written by Women

I’ve been reading a lot of blogs lately, and I discovered that the overwhelming majority of non-news, non-political blogs are written by women.  Most of them consist of musings on their children, their jobs, their diets, their personal lives, their travels, their hobbies, their fashion, their blah blah blabbidy blah.  Now don’t get me wrong…these things are okay to read occasionally (and yes, I can hear you haters giggling under your breath about my blog posts on my family, personal life, hobbies, etc.)  But what I’m concerned with is that the vast majority of these blogs are voiced by women.

I know there are men out there who have something funny or interesting or useful to say. There are men who maintain really strong (and strongly written) blogs.

NOTE:  In researching for this post, I thought it was a good idea to Google “best male blogs”.  BIG mistake.  Don’t do it.  Let’s just say that’s not what I was looking for.

Anyway, here are my five favorites (in no particular order):

#1:  The Art of Manliness
This is simply a great site for men.  This is filled with everything a man needs to know…or wants to know…or would like for their children to know.  Check out their “Manly Skills” section to learn how to properly jump from a speeding car or how to exit a room like a real man or how to build a pinewood derby car for your kid.   There are also sections on money, family, grooming, health, and just general manly living.  (There’s also a podcast containing interviews with special guests talking about some of these topics.)

#2:  No Pun Intended
This blog is written by a few guys who are intelligent, funny, and actually think before they speak (or write).  They write on a variety of topics, but I think they’re known for their sports postings.  (Check out their take on Lebron James and the Decision debacle.)

#3:  Very Smart Brothas
As I said earlier, there are very few NON-news/politics blogs written by men, but even fewer written by Black men.  The Very Smart Brothas (VSB) site is my time-sucker.  Most of the time when I’m done checking my chess games, checking my email, or checking my wife’s status on Facebook, I usually end up reading VSB.  (In fact, next week’s Five for a Friday will not be written by me…instead I’ll be posting a link to a list written by the very smart brothas at Very Smart Brothas.)

#4:  The Movie Blog
This a site of movie reviews and movie opinions and posts about movies written for men who love movies.  They call the site “The Official Home of Correct Movie Opinions”. When you go to the site, click on the FAVORITES category, then browse through their blog posts.  Good stuff.  Check out the list of “8 Things I’m Sick of Seeing in Movies” or check out the list of reasons why women need to stop seeing romantic comedies.  Good stuff.

#5:  Mr. Brown
From what I hear, this is one of the fastest growing blogs on the internet.  This blog is written with so much brilliance and wit and insight that other writers have simply discontinued their blogs so they could spend more time reading Mr. Brown’s.  You can find out more about him by clicking here.  Check out his postings on The Spook Who Sat by the Door or his post on why chess is better than sex or his now-famous ongoing Wheel of Fortune Saga.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2010 by in Five for a Friday and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 447 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

