souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

Eerie Emerson, Philip Marlowe, and 40×40

This was a jam-packed weekend.  Lots of things to do and very little time.

The cub scout camping trip with my son was a huge success.  Ten scouts from his pack (the Mighty Fine Pack 309) went camping this weekend.  The scout camp is located in Idyllwild and the name of the place is Camp Emerson.  Each year during the Halloween season, scout troops from all over the Inland Empire are invited to the camp to take part in what they call “Eerie Emerson”.  Basically kids bring their costumes and go trick-or-treating from campsite to campsite in the woods.  From what the camp staff told us, there were more than 300 scouts there.  And when you add in the pack leaders, parents, camp staff, and extra brothers and sisters and friends, there were over 600 people total at Emerson that weekend.  There were haunted mazes, decorated campsites…the works.  I never saw anything like it before.  Trick-or-treating in the woods is a LOT different than going door-to-door in your own neighborhood.  I loved it…and MDB #1 loved it even more (even though we lost part of his costume somewhere on the side of the mountain.)

To view the pics from the camping trip, click HERE.

Another thing that happened this weekend was that Mrs. Brown gave me a pretty good surprise for my birthday.  She got me something from my 40 by 40 list.  To surprise me is always a thoughtful thing to do for me because I love surprises…but to help me with an item from my list is even better.  While my son and I were on the camping trip, she had my car windsheild replaced.  I didn’t even notice it at first (I mean really…when you have a clear windshield with no cracks, you spend most of the time looking through it rather than at it.)  I didn’t take a “before” pic of the windshield, but here’s the new windshield.

For those of you who remember what I was driving with before, you’ll understand exactly why I’m excited about the new windshield.

Finally, another thing that happened was that I finished reading “The High Window,” a novel by the late great Raymond Chandller.  This book was book #1 on my “read-a-novel-per-month” challenge from the 40 by 40 list.  Fantastic writing.  This was one of those 1940 pulp fiction detective novels starring Chandler’s famous private detective Philip Marlowe.  It was fun reading it…like being caught up in a black-and-white “film noir” type of detective movie.  The writing was classic 1940s detective vernacular.  Like so:

“She looked at us lazily as we came over the grass.  From thirty feet away she looked like a lot of class.  From ten feet away she looked like something made up to be seen from thirty feet away.”

It makes me want to read more of his Philip Marlowe stories and maybe watch some of the old movies that were based on the novels.  Here’s the cover art for the edition of the novel I read.

3 comments on “Eerie Emerson, Philip Marlowe, and 40×40

  1. Karen Peterson
    November 1, 2011

    That campout sounds like a lot of fun. And that’s very exciting about the new windshield. I watch the crack in mine get a little worse every day.

  2. Pingback: 40 By 40 « Dr. Brown

  3. Dr. Brown
    November 9, 2012

    My wife had it done for my birthday last year when I was out of town. I’m not sure where she had it done, but I think it was just your average run of the mill auto glass place out here in Ontario.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2011 by in 40 by 40, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 447 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

