souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

Is There a Doctor in the House?

I’ve been really sick, and I haven’t felt this bad in a long time.  I came down with the flu the Friday after Thanksgiving, and I’ve kept some kind of super cold ever since.  But earlier this week, I was hit with some nasty strain of stomach flu that resulted in some pretty interesting bowel movements.  (Now just try to get that image from your mind.)

I’m a bit better now.

BUT in the midst of all this, yesterday I jumped through my final hoop on the road to completing my degree requirements.  The APU School of Education requires all graduates to publicly present the details of their study prior to the actual commencement ceremony.  (The graduation ceremony is this Saturday afternoon.)  After the presentation, there was the hooding ceremony, and now I am OFFICIALLY Dr. Brown.

It was difficult because I ate nothing for breakfast, nothing for lunch, and then was selected first to present.  I felt like throwing up all over the interim dean.  Luckily I didn’t do that.  I simply talked about my study as best as I could, and sat back down.

There were three of us presenting yesterday, and we were the first three from our original cohort of 16 to make it to graduation.  Melissa Dabiri and Kristina Young gave their presentations after mine (and they did MUCH better than I could have ever done).  But we made it…and when we were each hooded by the faculty and referred to as “Doctor” it finally hit me that it was all over.  The feeling of someone tapping my shoulder and telling me there was one more thing for me to do finally subsided.

I finally ate something around 7 or 7:30.  Right now I’m congested, I can’t stop coughing, and I can’t shake the feeling of being extremely exhausted all the time.

Around 3:00 this morning, I woke up coughing something terrible, thinking to myself how awesome it would be to have a doctor in the house.

One comment on “Is There a Doctor in the House?

  1. Karen Peterson
    December 16, 2011

    Congratulations, Dr. Brown!

    Now stop coming to work sick.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 15, 2011 by in Brown Family Updates, Education.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 445 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

