souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

December Novel – The Great Gatsby

In my 40-by-40 quest to read a novel per month for 12 months, my novel for the month of December was The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  I planned on reading a different book in December, but I decided on The Great Gatsby after my failed attempt at completing Nanowrimo (click here for that story).  The main character in my Nanowrimo story was a high school history teacher who just taught a lesson on the 1920s, so my head was already full of the Jazz Age.

I’m pretty sure I must have read The Great Gatsby at some point in middle school or high school, but I can’t remember.  The Great Gatsby is touted as the closest thing we have to THE great American novel, and in choosing to read (or re-read) it now, I think my expectations were too high.  It’s not that I didn’t like it…in fact, I thought it was expertly written.  The story, and especially the characters and their behaviors, were all undeniably American, and Fitzgerald does a wonderful job capturing all of that in the novel.

I think my problem was that I could neither root for nor relate to any of the characters.  Everyone seemed very full of themselves (yes, even Nick Carraway at times), and I’ve never been a big fan of drama for drama’s sake.  The novel did a good job of portraying the idiosyncracies of the Jazz Age’s ridiculously wealthy, and I can imagine why it became so popular so soon after its publication.  But sitting here over 8 and a half decades later, I’m a bit weary of being exposed to stories of the irreparable consequences of the morally bankrupt wealthy people of our society.

One comment on “December Novel – The Great Gatsby

  1. Karen Peterson
    January 10, 2012

    I agree with you that it’s a hard story to “like” because there really isn’t anyone to root for. That’s exactly how I feel about one of the “greatest romances ever”: the deplorable Wuthering Heights.

    But what I really can appreciate about The Great Gatsby is just how multi-layered it really is. Not one character or scene is exactly what it seems on the surface.

    The Great Gatsby is brilliant for its writing, not for its likability.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2012 by in 40 by 40, Book Reviews and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 447 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

