souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

Dichotomy

My sons exhaust me, and they exhaust me for different reasons.

MDB #1 - Probably contemplating something important...like the meaning of life...or fruit snacks.

MDB #1 is seven-years-old and he exhausts me mentally.  A few weeks ago, he got mad at me because I turned off the computer after a spate of rude and disrespectful comments he made…after which he said that he wanted to call the cops on me because I was being too mean…and he wanted to live with GG (his great-grandmother). He is constantly thinking, he’s sometimes a bit too sensitive about things, and everything gets reduced to numbers and logic…he reminds me of myself as a kid.  I told him that I wanted to take a picture of him, and the photo above is what I got.  I asked him to turn around so I can get his full face, and he just stood there.

He’s the exact opposite of MDB #2.

MDB #2 - His head stopped moving just long enough for me to take this picture.

MDB #2 is one-year-old (almost one and a half) and he exhausts me physically.  He doesn’t sleep through the night yet, and when he’s fully awake during the day, all he does is move.  Constantly moving.  Constantly always continuously moving.  I tried several times to snap a picture of him, and the photo above (where he’s trying to grab the camera) was the only one in which his head wasn’t blurry from moving around so much.  He climbs the stairs so that he can play “Just Dance 3” on the Nintendo Wii.  He climbs on kitchen chairs and tries to reach items on the kitchen table.  He’s moving and squirming and climbing…and he doesn’t stop.  He just doesn’t stop.

I love being a father, but I hate being tired.  I can’t wait until they’re older a few years from now when they level off into something a bit more normal.  Maybe then I can get some sleep.

3 comments on “Dichotomy

  1. Rufina
    March 20, 2012

    They are so cute! MDB (My Dear Boy)?

  2. Dr. Brown
    March 20, 2012

    They both have MDB as their initials.

  3. Rufina
    March 20, 2012

    Ah. I have a friend named Carolyn who has 7 sisters. All their names begin with a C or K (but I still have a hard time remembering them all).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2012 by in Men Fathers Brothers Sons and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 449 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

