souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

40 by 40 – No Fast Food for a Month

Damn…February felt like the longest month ever!

But I did it.  I knocked one more item off the 40 by 40 list.  The first thing I had to do was define the types of places and food that I would avoid for the month.  The usual suspects were avoided…Burger King, McDonald’s, Jack in the Box, Taco Bell, etc.  But the difficult part was determining what was allowed and not allowed at other places.  Were burgers and fries okay at home?  How about chicken strips at non-fast food restaurants?

I decided that I would stay away from anything with a drive-through, and if I ate out, then it would be no more than once a week and I would be very selective in my choices (no plates of nachos, no french fries, etc.)  I didn’t avoid junk food completely, but I did DRASTICALLY reduce my consumption of it all…which was difficult with all these girl scouts running around town with their cookie boxes.

Here were the hardest days:

Feb. 1 – I forgot that I was going to have lunch with a colleague at Eureka, a gourmet burger restaurant in Redlands.  I did fine with their Fig Marmalade Burger and no fries.

Feb. 5 – The frickin’ Super Bowl.  I decided to stay home for the game.  I snacked on one plate of low-salt tortilla chips (no sour cream or guacamole) and about a half dozen buffalo wings from the deli at the grocery store.

Feb. 19 – My brother (this brother here) celebrated his 37 birthday on the 19th…Japanese restaurant with slices of a Marie Callendars pie at home.

Feb. 23 – At work we celebrated Karen’s birthday (this Karen here) with a very good red velvet cake.

Feb. 29 – Took my son MDB #1 to the Staples Center for the Lakers vs the Timberwolves.  This was tough because all the concession stands had all kinds of stuff I was avoiding…burgers, fries, nachos, and the local favorite Frito Pie Dog (a huge chili cheese dog with Fritos corn chips.)  I was proud of myself…I had a shredded chicken and beans burrito with no cheese no sour cream, no toppings of any kind.

In our house, we have fast food twice a week (Fast Food Fridays and Second-time Saturdays).  During those days, my wife and son had fast food and I just found something to eat around the house.

I’m proud of the fact that I had the discipline to do this because fast food has been such a big part of my life since childhood.  Now I feel great, I’m losing weight, I’m more active at the gym, and I don’t feel sluggish like I used to.  Today is March 2 and I still haven’t had any fast food…maybe I’ll keep going and see how long I can go without it.

7 comments on “40 by 40 – No Fast Food for a Month

  1. GrayMedium
    March 3, 2012

    And I have an incredible video for you to watch (regarding eating choices)!

  2. Karen Peterson
    March 5, 2012

    Giving up fast food is awesome. I haven’t cut it out completely, but I’ve seriously cut back and I can see a huge difference in how I feel.

  3. Rufina
    March 27, 2012

    Excellent work. Keep it up!

  4. 1EarthUnited
    December 20, 2012

    Good for you, to your health!

  5. Dr. Brown
    December 20, 2012

    Thanks. And thanks for subscribing!

  6. Pingback: Can We Really Call This “Stuff” Food? | Eat well, Live well

  7. Pingback: Diet and Cancer | jdanielramirez

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2012 by in 40 by 40 and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 445 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

