souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

Good Idea, Bad Idea #3

from AddFunny.com

Good Idea: 

Using the P90x workout program to help me reach my fitness goals.

Bad Idea:

Ignoring the advice of the experts and trying to keep pace with the video models (who have ALL completed P90x at least twice already.)

At the end of March, one of my students loaned me his P90x DVDs.  (For those of you who don’t know, P90x is an extreme fitness workout program in which people torture themselves for one hour a day.  The goal is to transform your body in 90 days.)

I began on Sunday April 1 with the Chest & Back DVD.  I injured myself on the first day.

Here’s what happened…

I popped the DVD in and the WARNING message appeared on screen informing me that this is not for beginners.  Then another WARNING message appeared informing me that if anything happens to me as a result of these exercises, I cannot hold Tony Horton or the P90x creators liable.  Then I read through the guide that comes with the DVDs…beginning with the WARNING that I should consult my physician before attempting any fitness routine, and if this is my first time, then I should consider trying their beginner’s program called Beachbody’s Power 90.

I thumbed my nose at the warnings (literally thumbed my nose at them).

When the video began, Tony Horton (the annoying guy leading the workouts) reminded each viewer to go at his/her own pace, to pause the video when necessary, and to take longer water breaks if necessary.

My problem with things like this is that I have a tendency to go overboard (click HERE for another “Good Idea, Bad Idea” example of me going overboard.)

I tried to keep pace with Tony Horton and the models on screen.  If they were willing to do 25 reps of military pushups, then so was I.  If they could move from pushups to pullups and back to pushups with no water break, then so could I.

By the time I reached the video’s halfway point, my arms gave out and I just collapsed.

I didn’t think anything of it until the next day.  What I thought was normal soreness was really swollen triceps on both arms.  I couldn’t touch my face.  I gradually discovered as the day continued that not being able to bend my arms presented a series of inconveniences…such as asking my wife to button my shirt…or not being able to eat an apple…or not being able to scratch certain parts of my body.  I was surprised at how many times I needed to bend my arms throughout the day.

Even more troubling was not being able to sleep.  We naturally toss and turn in the middle of the night, and the pain in my arms as I moved in my sleep would wake me up.  I slept in two hour shifts for a few nights.  By the time I woke up Thursday morning, I realized that I had to go to the doctor to figure this thing out.  I was given some large doses of Ibuprofen to reduce the pain and I was told to ice the arms to reduce the swelling.  It took a total of 6 days for my arms to completely heal.

I searched online to see if this is common.  While I wouldn’t say that this is a common injury, I did find a couple other people who experienced the same thing from the same video.

Despite the injury, I still really like the P90x program.  I just need to follow instructions and move slowly from now on.

In the meantime, click below for another “Good Idea, Bad Idea” clip for you to enjoy.

Good Idea, Bad Idea

.

5 comments on “Good Idea, Bad Idea #3

  1. Rufina
    April 12, 2012

    Ouch. P90X scares the heck out of me. Where’s my Pillsbury hat? 🙂

  2. livingafter30
    April 12, 2012

    If it makes you feel any better I could barely function the first 2 weeks of P90X (I’m on day 68). Then somehow it gets better. But now I’m on week 10 and dying again. Phase 3 is no joke. I’m finding I can’t push myself as far as I did in previous weeks cause I’m so sore. But I keep pushing play and pushing through. 🙂

  3. Darlene
    April 13, 2012

    I’m a P90X dropout. I might have lasted a week. Supeman banana still haunts me!

  4. Dr. Brown
    April 13, 2012

    I showed my 7-year-old son how to do the Superman Bananas and he loved it…until he reached the third rep and then we both had enough.

  5. karenmpeterson
    April 15, 2012

    And this is why it’s time for everyone to just accept the fact that exercise is evil.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2012 by in Good Idea Bad Idea and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 447 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

