souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

The Versatile Blogger Award

Earlier this week, I was surprised to find myself nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award!   In college, I won second place in a short story contest, and when I was nine years old I broke a summer camp record for the most mosquito bites on a camper’s body (77 total mosquito bites), but this award tops them all!

The beauty of this award is that it offers people the chance to get to know each other through their blogs.  By seeing some of the other blogs nominated, I also get a glimpse into the likes of the person who nominated me.

Here are the Versatile Blogger Award rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog in your post.
  2. Share 7 things about yourself.
  3. Pass the award on to 7 other bloggers whose blogs you enjoy reading.
  4. Write to the bloggers you have nominated to let them know about the award.

“Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog in your post.”

I’ve been writing here on WordPress since late 2008, but I still feel new to the blog game.  There are far too many bloggers out there and I’m a bit picky about what I read. But one of the few blogs I follow (and actually subscribe to via email so I’ll never miss a post) is written by a fantastic lady named Rufina who I’ve been following for a couple months (CLICK HERE to read more about her).  Every time I read one of her posts, I’m reminded how much life there is out there to live and how beautiful the world can be really is. She has a positively grounded perspective and I’m enjoying getting to know her through her blog.

“Share 7 things about yourself.”

I’ll list seven things about myself that I didn’t include in my original “25 random things” list from years ago.

  1. I love words.  All of them.  I especially love expunge and lasciviousness and orange and yes.
  2. I can be a bit obsessive…or compulsive…or obsessively compulsive about a few things.  What’s difficult for me sometimes is being keenly aware of my obsessiveness.  On Tuesdays and Thursdays I must wear something blue, but I absolutely can not wear any blue on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.  This has been going on since I was in grade school.  It started with me wondering how I could wake up and truly know the day of the week (what if I slept for a straight 48 hours and missed a day?)  So I created a very logical (elementary school logical) color coding system…I would leave my clothes on the floor or at the foot of my bed at night after taking them off.  The color told me what I wore the day before and then I would switch for the current day.  The habit is ingrained in my brain’s wiring and I’ve been following this pattern ever since.
  3. My current burgeoning interest in archery was only slightly ignited by Katniss Everdeen.
  4. In my early twenties, I had a series of very uniquely strange and amazing experiences that can only be explained as divine intervention.
  5. I have a recipe for “The Teacher’s Cheesecake.”  It’s a recipe that is ONLY passed down from teacher to teacher (you can’t even find it online), and it was given to me by one of the professors in my teaching credential program at Pepperdine University.  It’s a really unique tasting sour cream cheesecake, and if the directions are followed exactly, the recipe will produce two cheesecakes…one to keep and one to share with someone else.
  6. My seven-year-old son is twice as smart as I was when I was his age (he learned chess at age 3, wants to be an opthamologist, and says things like “I’m copying this guy’s IP address because I need access to his Minecraft server.”)
  7. I believe in the power of bacon.  Bacon really does make everything better.

“Pass the award on to 7 other bloggers whose blogs you enjoy reading.”

Here’s my problem.  I currently read the personal blogs of only three people.

I follow several professional sites for which the Versatile Blogger Award would not be appropriate such as The Art of Manliness (a men’s issues website), Alternate Takes (truly amazing articles on everything related to the world of jazz music), and The Movie Blog (the very BEST movie site and the “official home of correct movie opinions”).  From the list of blogging fathers who I followed, only one is still writing (The Busy Dad Blog), and I’m starting to think that his commercial success is making the site less personal.

I used to regularly follow several personal blogs but most of those blogs are currently stagnant. Now I only follow three people:  Rufina (who nominated me for this award) and the following two blogs:

  1. A Peek at Karen’s World – Karen is a friend, a colleague of mine at CHC, and my blogging mentor.  I am passing this award to her, but I’m sure she must have received the Versatile Blogger Award eleventy-thousand times already.  Her blog now has over 500 followers, she is a member in actual blog networks, and she has managed to find sponsors for her blog.
  2. Living Between the Lines – This blog is another one of the personal blogs that I subscribed to via email.  It’s written by accomplished author and all-around great writer Deborah Barker.  I met Deborah through a comment she left on one of my blog posts over a year ago.  I began enthusiatically reading her posts and I am honored that she eventually became the first follower to my blog.

That is the beauty of the Versatile Blogger Award, and thanks again to Rufina for nominating me.  It’s all about exposure and this exposure allows bloggers to find one another…and being a Versatile Blogger will help me expose myself to more strangers out there.  Here’s to exposing myself to strangers!

8 comments on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: And The Versatile Blogger Award Goes To… « Being Rufina

  2. rachelneild
    May 10, 2012

    Such an interesting synopsis shared in 7 things about your self souldaddy!
    I am the younger sister to Rufina and she suggested I check out your blog.
    You have peeked my interest and I will need to stay tuned for more posts.
    Excellent writing.. and humorous! You certainly do have a way with words!
    Looking forward to following you!
    Rachel Neild

  3. Rufina
    May 10, 2012

    Just wanted to let you know Robert, that I thought your list of 7 things was very entertaining. Have you ever posted about the experiences from your 20’s? I shall search your archives anyway; it’s bound to be a great read. Thanks also for your very kind words above; I am honored to be one of the bloggers that you follow!

  4. Dr. Brown
    May 11, 2012

    Thanks Rufina. No, I never wrote about those experiences in my 20s, but I probably should.

  5. Dr. Brown
    May 11, 2012

    Hi Rachel. Very nice to meet you. Thanks for reading and following…hopefully I’ll hear from you again soon.

  6. Deborah Barker
    May 11, 2012

    Hello again! Thank you so much for nominating me – you have brightened, what was threatening to become, a very frustrating day. Thanks also for your comment on my blog. Love your seven personal facts, especially the colour coding one – very clever 😉

  7. Deborah Barker
    May 11, 2012

    Hello again! Thank you very much for nominating me for this award – you brightened what was threatening to become, a very frustrating day. I love your list of 7 personal facts – especially the one about colour coding to tell the days of the week…very clever! 🙂

  8. karenmpeterson
    May 16, 2012

    Well thank you!

    I knew you wore blue on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but I didn’t know why. Kind of cool that you’ve been keeping up with all these years.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 445 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

