souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

40 by 40 – Learn How to Play “Fur Elise” Completely

I’m knocking another item off my 40 by 40 list.  Since last year I’ve been practicing Beethoven’s Für Elise and even though I have the whole thing memorized, I decided to play it here glancing at the sheet music.

I still can’t quite get Beethoven’s whole left hand crossover thing, so I improvised on that part a bit.  And a little performance anxiety caused me to hit the wrong note once during the song, but I’m calling this one DONE!

Click here to see the video:

2 comments on “40 by 40 – Learn How to Play “Fur Elise” Completely

  1. screenscribbler
    July 7, 2012

    I’ve fold all 300 of my Facebook friends to stop whatever it is they are doing and take a break to listen to you playing. That was beautifully played. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Dr. Brown
    July 7, 2012

    Hey screenscribbler…I appreciate the comment! I’m not as good as I’d like to be, but I was pretty proud of myself for making it all the way through.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2012 by in 40 by 40, Music and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 447 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

