souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

40 by 40 – Visit the Lewis Family

from left to right:
Me, my belly, Garrison, Mason, Lisa, and Greg

Earlier this month, I took a trip to visit the Lewis family in Pleasanton (located in the Bay Area of northern California).  I met Greg and Lisa in college at the University of Redlands, and we’ve all been friends ever since.  They have two awesome (and awesomely tall) sons named Garrison and Mason, and two creepy little cats named Raven and Skittles. (I’ve never been a cat person, so understand that I would never spend two nights in a house with cats unless the folks who live there were really good friends.)

Sometimes, during holidays like Christmas or Valentine’s Day or Mother’s Day, I’ll hear someone comment on how commercial everything has become, or how we shouldn’t need a holiday to celebrate loved ones.  But the truth is that we do need those days.  Sometimes the busy-ness of our lives distract us from celebrating things that are most important.  I need Mother’s Day to arrive each year in May to remind me how much I appreciate what my mother has done for me.  I need Valentine’s Day each year to remind me to celebrate love in all its forms.  I need International Bacon Day at the end of each summer to remind me of the goodness and bounty that is pork.

The reason I mention all of this is because visiting the Lewis family was an item that I intentionally placed on my 40 by 40 list reminding me to celebrate some close friends that mean a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 22, 2012 by in 40 by 40 and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 447 other followers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove

