souldaddy

educator, writer, speaker, devoted family man, amateur philosopher, chess enthusiast, basketball junkie, connoisseur of fine hip hop, and purveyor of wit and wisdom

The Great American Novella

nanowrimo

It is now December 1, a bit after midnight.  Another November has come and gone, and with it, my dreams of being a successful Nanowrimo winner.  The goal of writing a 50,000-word novel in 30 days is still beyond my reach, but I did much, much better this year compared to my first attempt a couple years ago.  In 2011, when I participated in Nanowrimo the first time, I wrote a little over 5000 words.  Pathetic.

This time, I revisited that same story I began in 2011 and just started over, this time writing from a first person perspective.  Genius, baby.  Despite getting the flu twice in 17 days, being behind at work with all the stuff I have to do, and getting very little sleep, the words kept flowing.

I began the month on fire, but kinda slowed down by the end of week two.  By then I adjusted my goal to a respectable 20,000 words.  As of 11:54pm, according to my submission to the Nanowrimo.org word validation software, I amassed a whopping 30,072 words this month.

My brother DJ said he would take me to Vegas if I hit 50,000 words.  With my 30,072 words, maybe he’ll drop me off at the state line.

Even though Nanowrimo is over, I’m still working on the novel.  It’s a really good story, and I’m looking forward to how this thing turns out.  Maybe I’ll wrap it up by New Year’s.

One comment on “The Great American Novella

  1. Karen Peterson
    December 2, 2013

    Congratulations! That’s awesome! I never did get around to starting.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 1, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 446 other subscribers

Soulquarian Quote of the Day

"There is no hip hop manual for growing old...The 22-year-old college grad who used to love the Roots in 1994 never left. He’s just 40 now and has a wife and kids and doesn’t feel like spending all night at a club."
--Questlove